Tuesday, July 20, 2010
He. Is. Enough.
Sunday, April 11, 2010
Rain, Rain, Go Away.... wow that was easy
Sunday, April 4, 2010
They saw Jesus die. They saw Him take His last breath...But Sunday was coming
Monday, March 22, 2010
Ho...sa....nn....a?
Sunday, March 21, 2010
F.R.I.E.N.D.S!! no not the t.v. show...
I love my friends.. ALL of them. But sometimes i get really sick of a few of them... especially the ones who never shut up about how good they are at something, or how good they look, or how many girls they can pick up, or how they try to impress everybody... it just gets really old.. really fast. And it's even worse when they act one way around me, my other friends, our minister and everybody else... and then when they get away.. (or so they think) from everybody.. it's completely fine to cut loose and say/do/participate in whatever the heck they want to because they have a "do-whatever-the-heck-i-want-to" attitude.
It gets even better when they go to church, participate in church activities, and even speak/"mentor" the younger kids in the church and when they get in their car to leave church, they take off their church mask and put it in their glove box until the next time they pull into the parking lot or whenever they come in contact with someone from church. Don't get me wrong, I'm guilty of it too. But I KNOW that i do it and i make a conscious effort to fix it. But me and God are working on that.
It just irritates the CRAP out of me and all people do is sit back and watch. I know, i know: "Hunter, why don't you say anything?" I'll answer it. I don't know whether i should lay it all out there for them or give them a hug and say it's gonna be alright.. you don't have to play two-face with me or God.. we love you for who you are.. you don't have to impress everybody.
Only thing i can think of is prayer. God works in weird (but good) ways. He puts things in front of us to test our faith... which, if you think about it, He already knows what's going to happen.... ah rabbit trail! But anyways, God's just showing me how NOT to be. And man am i glad that He got my attention a while ago.
Sunday, February 14, 2010
Under Pressure... (anybody name the band?)
a gift money can't buy
Wednesday, February 10, 2010
"You of little faith".... huh? you're talkin to me?
Tuesday, February 9, 2010
LET"S GET READY TOOOOO.... tremble?
Isaiah 66:2 "Has not my hand made all these things, and so they came into being? delcares the LORD. This is the one i esteem: he who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word."
I underlined it for a reason. Tremble. not usually the first word that comes to my mind when i read the Bible. But really.... it says it right there in the first sentence. "... declares the LORD." You ever prayed for you to hear God speak to you? i know that i have. so lets see it again. "...declares the LORD." There it is. Plain as day. God Almighty himself is speaking to you. Now, if you're like me, you're completely oblivious to the fact that God, the creator of the heavens and the earth, the One who breathed us into freakin existance, just spoke to you.
So it begs for the question to be asked... WHAT THE HECK ARE WE DOING ABOUT IT THEN?!?!? God, freakin GOD is speaking to us and we pay about as much attention to Him as we do when we read "Julius Caesar" or whatever... you get my point.
Another example. Matthew 17. Otherwise known as "The Transfiguration." When Jesus, Peter and some other disciples go up onto a mountain... and all of a sudden Jesus is appearing in His heavenly form... a form that gives off WAY too much light for Peter to see. And freakin Elijah and Moses are standing there with him. You know the story right? if not PLEASE go read it... matter fact go read it anyways it'll do you some good to read God's word. Anyways, Peter asks if he can build a shelter for all 3 of them when all of a sudden the "glory cloud", as Francis Chan so awesomely names it, envelops Peter and he LITERALLY hears God speak.... FREAKING LITERALLY!!!! I don't know about you but this absolutely blows my mind. God says to Peter, (and i really feel like He is saying this to all of us) "This is my Son, whom i love; with him i am well pleased. Listen to him!" And when the disciples heard this, all of them fell to the ground terrified. In other words, the trembled when the heard the word of God.
So what do you think they would've done if Jesus had come up and said "Peter go tell everyone you know about Me." Dangit, if i was Peter my butt would've been gone in a heatbeat. To hear God say "listen to Him" would've been the only 3 words i would need to hear for the rest of my life. And it's so funny (in a sad way) because He's saying it to us all the time in the Bible and we have become so numb to the fact that its GODS HOLY WORD THAT HE SPOKE to understand that He is talking to us.
So i guess my final question is:
Will we tremble and do what God tells us when we hear Him speak? Or will we treat His words like the same ol' words from the same ol' book we read in high school?
Sunday, February 7, 2010
You're acting like a 5 year old... SO WHAT
Tonight at Bible study we spoke about faith... and not just any faith. A very specific type of faith: Faith of a child. You see, in one of the Gospels, (sue me for not knowing which one) when a group of small children want to come up and speak to Jesus, the disciples tell them to pretty much go away. Then Jesus turns to the disciples and says basically, you need to have faith like these small children or else you'll never know who i am. Pretty weird huh? Why the heck would we need to have faith like that of a child to become closer to Christ? why, i'm glad you asked!
You see, children have the tendency to love... unconditionally. I'll give you an example. When my mom would drop me off at daycare in the mornings, i would be the saddest kid on the planet. But when 5:00 rolled around, i was the happiest kid alive. To know that my mother was there to rescue me from the dark depths of daycare was the greatest feeling in the world because she was the one i ran to when i got a boo boo, when i was happy, when i was crying. Because she was always there to comfort me and she loved me no matter what i did. And i loved her because, well... i just did. There's not really a reason behind it. It's that simple but complex at the same time.
Children also have the tendency to do what they're told... when they're told. Another example. Tonight, we told a young boy, around the age of 4 or 5, to go tell one of our friends he looked like a girl... childish, but nonetheless very entertaining. His response was "okay." He walked off and did it like his life depended on it.
If you can't see where i'm heading with this, meet me somewhere and we'll get your eyes checked.
Jesus said this because to Him, we are supposed to act like young children. To be completely in love with Him.. and not know why and be perfectly fine with that. We're supposed to do what we're told... when we're told instead of sitting there saying "hold on, this show is almost over" or something along those lines. And when we mess up, He's okay with that! He still loves us. He's still there to put a spiritual band-aid on our boo boo and He's there to embrace us when we are weeping uncontrollably.
To me Jesus, God, (they're the same person by the way) is the ultimate parent. Yea we've heard it 1,000 times, He's our Father. But just think about it. He's our Father. Yea He's gonna punish us when we screw up but He is still, without a doubt, unequivocally in love with us.
So my challenge, to me also, is to have faith like that of a child. So what if we fall and get hurt. So what we screw up... we do it all the time by the way. We've got the love of the Ultimate Father there to save us at the end of the day.
Saturday, February 6, 2010
Bringin Down the House
The thought is mind boggling is it not? One of my favorite stories of Jesus is when He just goes beserk on the people trying to make a profit by selling stuff in the temple... in HIS temple. Here, let me set the scene for you:
"Tear Down this Temple" (even the title sounds pretty cool)
"When the Passover Feast, celebrated each spring by the Jews, was about to take place, Jesus traveled up to Jerusalem. He found the Temple teeming with people selling cattle and sheep and doves. The loan sharks were also there in full strength. Jesus put together a whip out of strips of leather and chased them out of the Temple, stampeding the sheep and cattle, upending the tables of the loan sharks, spilling coins left and right. he told the doves merchants, 'Get your things out of here! Stop turning my Father's house into a shopping mall!' Thats when the disciples remembered the Scripture, 'Zeal for your house consumes me.'" John 2: 13-17 The Message
So... could you imagine literally, like LITERALLY seeing this? My favorite part is when Jesus is making the whip. I can't imagine the look in His eyes as He watches them defy His temple. Huh, here's a sobering thought for me and you, do you think He looks at us the same way when we do crap that outright, straight up, no holds bar defies Him and His temple? Think about it. But anyways, the look alone would make my heart stop. To see him tearing each strip of leather and tying each knot on the whip... I want to be right there behind Him just to kinda get the full scale of this passage in the Bible. And another thing, most likely, Jesus wasn't some scrawny guy. He was a carpenter. Not one who had power tools and a butt crack hanging out his pants, but he did everything physically. So more than likely, He was ripped. So to read how he flipped over tables and over powered everyone in there, (these tables were more than likely solid wood. not cheap light plastic ones) is pretty freakin cool. So to see Him doing all of this, AND not sinning, is possible the coolest thing every.
I love the part where it says "Zeal for your house consumes me." Another thought. Why doesn't zeal (or passion) consume us when we see people defy God's temple? Are we (i say we including me) scared? scared to get looked down upon? scared to lose a job? lose a friend? lose a life maybe? Another thought that has been in my head, completely off subject by the way but nonetheless a good thought, is why are we afraid of death? If death is all that we have to be "afraid of", then by all means bring it on. that's the final step to getting to God! So anyways, off that rabbit trail, why are we not passionate when stuff happens that affends God?? Passion for God is an all consuming fire, burning in the depths of our soul, waiting to be unleashed! So why not go for it and unleash it on someone and quite possibly change thier life for the greater good? Because after all, we are involved in an Epic far greater than our own?
Friday, February 5, 2010
Da Remedy ... no not the car wash... something a little bit better
Even thought its been a hectic week, God still never fails to reveal Himself. Its pretty crazy how He works sometimes. Scratch that, all the time. i pretty much put God back into the "box" and put him in my pocket and i only pulled Him out when i needed him. I am beginning to realize just how much that i actually need Him in my everyday life. Because when you think about it... He already knows what's going to happen... so why not just let Him lead you into it? just some food for thought. Anyways, God has just really been letting me know just how far down the list i have put Him.
I think its pretty crazy how i shove God down farther and farther and He still always finds a way to pop into my head and make me think throughout the day. Yesterday for example, as i was getting out of the shower i just stopped and started blankly at the wall, while thoughts of suffering and thoughts of following God flashed through my brain. I was kinda dazed for the next hour or so thinking about what had happened.
So today, another string of thoughts popped into my head as i was driving home. My train of thought went something like this:
- If you're hurt you need something to heal you right?
- If you're down you need a pick me up right?
- Remember your grandparents had "home remedies" to help you?
- I'm your remedy
- Let me heal you
- You can't do it by yourself
Yea i know right? how did i not wreck while all this was going through my head?
This week my mind has just been flooded with thoughts from different relationships over the past year and the only thoughts i was able to think about were the bad ones. And it's always the same ones over and over. and over. and over. Its just torn up my heart to the point where i just get numb to the pain. So needless to say i've been a little out of it. But not letting God deal with it has made everything 19,000 times worse. So i guess the question is, is God our remedy? is God our source of Hope? is God our source of Life? I guess the biggest question is is God our SOURCE of anything?
so point blank, in your and my face, here it is.
If God is our remedy then what the heck are we so worried about? We know that our slate has been wiped clean, we are the redeemed, we are the ones who are free, and we belong to Jesus!
If God isn't our remedy, then what the heck is? This is mainly my problem. No, i'm not afraid to say it. God hasn't been my remedy because i struggle with pride. Not afraid to throw that out there either. But the problem is that God isn't our remedy. So here's the question again. If God isn't our remedy, then what the heck is? what is so much more important that it can get in the way of the Creator of the Universe. The One who breathed us into existance. God is our remedy becuase He knows what makes us tick, he knows what buttons to push to get to us and He knows US! He is the One who has saved us! He is the one who forgave us! He is the one who has come and is coming again. HE'S THE FREAKIN REMEDY.
God, let me get it through my thick skull! You've already saved me, you've already forgiven me. You've already died for me! forgive me for worrying. for doubting. for not putting you in your place that you so rightly deserve.
Think about it. You're sick. You're hurting. Are you not? if you say no you're a liar. i said it. i'll say it again. you're a liar and so am i. Let Him be the medicine that heals. The only medicine that truly heals. Try it. i know i am.
Saturday, January 9, 2010
Eureka!!
"Cast all your anxieties on him because, he cares for you." 1 Peter 5:7
.... and then it hit me... well, God hit me. I know i've heard this at least 1,000 times... i don't know about you. It's basically saying give God all your worries, baggage, pain, whatever you want to call it, because he cares for you..... i don't know if you caught what i caught.... HE CARES FOR YOU. Which means stop "laying" down all your stuggles (and i put laying in quotes for a reason... sarcasm) and LAY down all your struggles. Don't get me wrong, i'm in the exact same boat... but God really spoke to me when i read this.
God: Hunter... stop bullcrapping around and let Me, the God who breathed you into existance, handle your struggles. Because i don't know if you realize it.... but I CAN HANDLE THEM.
Hunter: nah man, i'm okay right now... thanks though....
?!?!?!?!?!
I know! i want to punch me in the face too!!! But in all reality, we do it all the time. I'm not saying this is anybody in particular, PROMISE. Just saying that i do it and that not everyone is perfect. But for me... i lie to God... i'll say it again... i LIE to God. Which is pretty much looking at God and saying "no man, you're not good enough to handle my struggles even though you did put them in front of me."
God really just said to me tonight:
God: Look Hunter, i know that you lie to me, think you can outsmart me (which I do find very entertaining) (God has a humor.... just saying), but man, I care about you so much that I am ABLE to handle everything that is going on in your life... remember, I already did once on the Cross.
Did you guys catch that too? Just in case you didn't, i'll say it. God already handled all our struggles, pains, baggage... YOU NAME IT... on the Cross around 2000 years ago... when we weren't even in existance yet!
So if He already did it, why can't He do it again?
Thursday, January 7, 2010
"So what you're saying is.... I screwed up?"
talk about a slap right into the face. I mean, we think and say this kind of stuff all the time. "why can't i be taller, why can't i look better," and the list goes on. But every time we think or say things like this, we're saying that God didn't do His job right... and that's spitting right in His face. God made us the way we are for a reason even if we don't see it. the thing is, we're not supposed to see until He wants us to... if that makes any sense at all. God has a plan for us and He created us just the way we are so that we may fulfill His will for our lives. Because the whole point of us living is to freakin glorify His mighty name. He sent His Son to glorify Himself.... not to save us. And heck yea this is freakin hard to wrap your mind around it, but just think of it as this: If we could wrap our minds around God's will and plan and why He made us like He did.... then why in the world would we need Him? Because if you already didn't know, He does NOT need us one bit to glorify His name.
God made the world... to glorify Him
God made the cosmos... to glorify Him
God sent His ONLY SON.... to glorify Him
So, as I get off the rabbit trail that i so wondorfully went down, i just wanted to say this:
God - our Father who knows what's best for us even if we can't see it at the very moment - created us exactly the way we are for a reason... I'm tall for some reason... i have bade eyesight for some reason and to be honest... i'm perfectly content with not knowing why.